On Sept. 27, 2016, Governor Brown signed into law Assembly Bill No. 1887. This new law prohibits state-funded travel to states that have passed a law after June 26, 2015, that:

  • Authorized discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression; or
  • Repealed existing state or local protections against such discrimination

This law expressly identifies the University of California as an entity covered by the law, and campus departments must comply with this new rule effective Jan. 1, 2017.

UC has the responsibility to consult the list on the State Attorney General's website in order to comply with the travel and funding restrictions imposed by the law. In addition, UC cannot require employees to travel to these states, regardless of funding source. Therefore, there can be no repercussions if an employee declines to travel to any state that is on the Attorney General's list of states where state-funded travel is prohibited.

AB 1887 provides a number of exceptions and does not affect travel that is paid for or reimbursed using non-state funds. It also does not apply to travel expenses that were incurred before Jan. 1, 2017.

Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently asked questions, including a list of current states affected by the travel prohibition, can be found here.

Hyperlink icon  Useful Links

State Attorney General's website:

FAQ's for UC Travel